Home WRC No Competition No:1 in 2020

No Competition No:1 in 2020

Photo: Auto-sport
Photo credit Autosport.uk

World Rally championship WRC fans will not see competition number one this season.

2019 Hyundai-WRC team Drivers with their Competition numbers during  Auto-sport show Birmingham. 

At the beginning of 2019 WRC season for the first time in 40 years since the FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers was created in 1979, a change in regulations has been Introduced that links car numbers to drivers, but not teams. As such, Priority one drivers have been choosing their competition numbers, adding personality as well as consistency to on-going promotion. The exception to this rule is that only the ruling world champion has the right to choose number 1 for himself.

Competion number Number one will always be reserved for the reigning FIA World Rally Champion, and Sébastien Ogier has selected to retain the coveted number for his title defence with the Citroën Total World Rally Team last year.

Sebastien Ogier wore last season’s number one on the side of his Citroen. This year’s world champion, Ott Tänak, has decided to withhold his privilege.

According to the preliminary entry list of Monte Carlo World Championship runners, Tänak will not take one. The Estonian star transferred to Hyundai is planning to hold on to the number 8 that was in his Toyota during the championship.

At WRC level, Kalle Rovanperä , who will be making his debut at Toyota, has made a special choice for himself. Rovanperä’s number for the Monte Carlo Rally is 69. Toyota test driver Juho Hänninen drove one World Rally team last season with his fourth WRC car, and at the time Hänninen’s Yaris was number 69.

Sebastien Ogier, who has moved to Toyota, will take on the number 17, while Sebastien Loeb, the ninth time winner of the World Rally Championship, will hold number 9 in his Hyundai in the 2020 season.

Preliminary Entrylist for the Monte Carlo World Rally Championship (RC1 Teams):

No:8 Ott Thanks Hyundai

No:11 Thierry Neuville Hyundai

No:9 Sebastien Loeb Hyundai

No:17 Sebastien Ogier Toyota

No:33 Elfyn Evans Toyota

No:69 Kalle Rovanperä Toyota

No:18 Takamoto See Toyota

No:4 Esapekka Lappi

No:33 GUS Greensmith

No:3 Teemu suninen