Thursday, July 29, 2021

The Search Begins For WRC All-Time Greatest Driver

Must read

Amidst the forced break due to the  Corona virus pandemic, the world rally championship enthusiasts will use the opportunity to crown the greatest world rally driver of all time.

Rally fans along with selected WRC expert journalists will influence the WRC promoter’s final decision on the choice. 

Drivers selected will be those that have competed in the world series since its inauguration in 1979. 

“All 18 champions are joined by two wildcard entries – nominated on their performances – to rank the sport’s top 20 drivers.

“And what defines the greatest? It could be world titles or rally wins. Or other factors such as sheer speed, bravery, tactical nous, mechanical sympathy. Or all of these together,” reads in part a press release from WRC promoter. 

The 20 drivers are; Sébastien Loeb, Sébastien Ogier, Tommi Mäkinen, Juha Kankkunen, Marcus Grönholm, Carlos Sainz, Miki Biasion, Walter Röhrl, Colin McRae, Didier Auriol, Hannu Mikkola, Björn Waldegård, Petter Solberg, Ott Tänak, Stig Blomqvist, Timo Salonen, Ari Vatanen, Richard Burns, Markku Alén and Jari-Matti Latvala.

Markku Alen and Latvala are the two wildcards.

“A tournament-style draw brings drivers into a head-to-head contest against each other. Every day, fans have the chance to vote for their favorite from each pairing on the official website.

The 20 drivers will be seeded based on titles, rally wins and podiums while the lowest eight seeds take part in a qualifying round, with the four winners from the driver duels joining the top 12 seeds in the first round.
The eight round one winners progress into the quarter-finals, followed by the semi-finals. The final will reveal The Greatest WRC Driver.

Rally fans will be tasked to a vote daily; an activity which would later land them an opportunity to win prizes from Pirelli or a full year of WRC+ subscription.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article